Louie Giglio’s Send North America Conference Talk

The following are my notes from Louie Giglio’s talk at the Send North America Conference on July 30, 2012.

All of us are standing on the shoulders of men and women who have gone before us. So isn’t it great to give honor where honor is due? There is nothing new under the sun. As long as the Bible is true then there is not going to be anything said here that has not already been said.

Nothing New Under The Sun

Sure culture changes, but the guts of what we got does not change. So if we are looking around for something new then we need to stop looking. The gospel is old and it has always worked. There is nothing going to happen in these days that is going to trump what has already happened in your life.

Jesus Christ has risen from the dead!!! Has the resurrection worn out in you? Are you still flipping out? If you are not, then you should not go plant a church.

The Hardest Thing You Will Ever Do

Planting a church is the most significant thing you can do in your life and it is the hardest thing you could ever do in your life. I decided to do it at age 50 and I can tell you that it has been the hardest thing we have ever done and we have been through some hard things.

One day my wife and I were talking about what we were doing in ministry and then it seemed like God was telling me to just stop talking. This is hard for me to do and so I stopped talking and then in two weeks I was at an event with my wife and the speaker of the event said “I feel like God is telling me to start praying for the pastor’s wives.” And in that prayer that speaker prayed for everything we were working through and trying to talk through a couple weeks ago. It was amazing. We just started sobbing. We could just sense that God was with us and he was taking us to the next place in our journey. But as amazing as that moment was I still sense the power of the resurrection. This is what gives us hope and the reason we are planting a church.

What Kind Of Church Is It?

So people ask me “So, I heard you started a church.”

To which I tell them, “No, Jesus started the church and I am planting one of his.”

By the way, you do not want to start a church if Jesus is already building one.

Then people will usually ask me, “what kind of church is it?”

And I normally ask them, “What do you mean by that?”

Seriously! What does that even mean? I tell them that we are planting a JESUS CHURCH! I do not want to be pigeon holed like that.

It’s A Jesus Church

It is Jesus’ church it is his gospel. He made us. He saved us. He loved us. He adopted us. We have the name of Christ. I am a joint heir of Christ. He bought us out of darkness. He made us alive when we were dead.

What kind of church are you planting? …. Are you kidding me? We are planting a Jesus church!

You see I am a Southern Baptist. “But Louie you have non-denominational church.” Oh, no I am a baptist. I was born in the Georgia Baptist hospital. My entire history and heritage has all happened surrounding Southern Baptists and I love it and celebrate it. I am one!

But like you this story is about Jesus. When the story becomes about Jesus the acceleration of planting churches will happen.

None of this was my message that I was going to share with you. So let me try to share a thought with you.

Have You Heard A Word From God?

One of the things we ask to our team of leaders is if they have a word from God. Has God spoken to you through his word? Is there anything on your heart? We ask that because if people are not hearing from God and just coming to show up for a job then we need to close the doors for a while. And this one day I asked that question and this one young guy said “I have a word from God.” Then he opened up the word on his phone and read Luke 7:11-17.

Soon afterward he went to a town called Nain, and his disciples and a great crowd went with him. As he drew near to the gate of the town, behold, a man who had died was being carried out, jthe only son of his mother, and she was a widow, and a considerable crowd from the town was with her. And when the Lord saw her, khe had compassion on her and lsaid to her, “Do not weep.” Then he came up and touched the bier, and the bearers stood still. And he said, “Young man, I say to you, arise.” And the dead man sat up and began to speak, and Jesus gave him to his mother. Fear seized them all, and they glorified God, saying, “A great prophet has arisen among us!” and “God has visited his people!” And this report about him spread through the whole of Judea and all the surrounding country.

Jesus walked into a funeral and interrupts the march out to the grave. That is what Jesus is doing in this building tonight and that is what he doing to you. Jesus walks into our funeral and puts his hand on us and then tells us to get up.

The problem is not that we are bad. The problem is that we are dead. The gospel does not come to make people good. The gospel comes to bring people to life. That is the gospel.

Un-churched is a very nice word to describe someone who is dead.

Holy Mystery!

At our church the other day someone came up and asked us if we heard about the couple that was in the prayer room after the service. This lady was a universalist and she shared about her what she believed and how she was struggling with the sermon and how Jesus is the only way. So then the lady in our prayer team said that she would like to just start praying for this lady and that God will help her find her way to God. Right in the middle of the prayer she looked up and said, “Stop praying!” The lady stopped and said, “What?” She said, “Stop praying. I believe in Jesus now.”

In the message Eugene Peterson says that the people in Luke 7 realized they were in a place of Holy mystery because they were filled with awe and in quiet worship.

We need more of that. We need more holy mystery. It was so powerful that we cannot even tweet it. We just get on our faces and then we stand up rejoicing. Are we going to be Pentecostals? No! We are going to be shouting Baptists because someone came back from the dead. Jesus just showed up and wrecked a funeral. That is the kind of worship the church has to get a hold of. If our church sounds like a funeral that didn’t get interrupted, then we really missed it.

And what was the result of all this.

And this report about him spread through the whole of Judea and all the surrounding country.

They didn’t even have a church planting strategy. We need to get a hold of this Jesus.

So I am going to just ask the question. Is anyone rolling in their funeral tonight? Is there anyone in here that just needs Jesus to come in and have Jesus interrupt the my funeral.

Leave a comment

Filed under Church Planting, Evangelism, Luke, Missions, Send Conference 2012, Sermons

Leave a Reply

